Vermont Knife Laws
Vermont’s knife laws are very straightforward and easy to understand. Switchblade is the banned knife in this State both for owning and carrying. Also, there are some other facts here.
To know the details of the knife laws in Vermont, you can rely on this article.
Knife Possession Laws
It is completely prohibited to possess, sell or offer for sale a switchblade knife with three inches or more blade length in Vermont. Switchblade and other automatic knives are commonly banned knives in most of the States.
In Vermont, the law is more clear and brief that the switchblade will be illegal if the blade length of it is three inches and exceeds than that. On the other hand, switchblades can be possessed if it is less than three inches of blade length.
Punishment: If someone violates this knife possession law, he or she will be punished by,
- An imprisonment of not exceeding 90 days or three months and or,
- A fine of not exceeding $100.00
The code “§ 4013: Zip guns; switchblade knives” explains the law along with the punishment. (Source: https://law.justia.com/codes/vermont/2014/title-13/chapter-85/section-40130)
“A person who possesses, sells or offers for sale a weapon is commonly known as a “zip” gun, or a weapon is commonly known as a switchblade knife, the blade of which is three inches or more in length, shall be imprisoned not more than 90 days or fined not more than $100.00, or both.”
Other legal knives are,
- All sorts of pocket knives are legal.
- Knives that are disguised under things like a pen, cane, lipstick or belt buckles etc. are legal.
- Balisong or butterfly knives are legal.
- Bowie knives and other large single-edged knives are legal.
- Dirks, daggers, and stilettos and other double-edged knives are legal.
- Throwing knives, throwing stars, nunchaku and other martial arts’ weapons are legal.
- Hunting, fishing or other utility knives are legal.
- All sorts of undetectable knives are legal.
Knife Carry Laws
Carrying dangerous or deadly weapon as well as knives both openly or in a concealed manner is punishable in Vermont. Dangerous or deadly weapon indicates those instruments which can cause serious bodily injury or even death.
So, carrying this sort of knives with the intention of causing any injury or harm to an individual is illegal here. Also, carrying the deadly weapons on any State institution premises or grounds or on any land which has been owned for the making of any institution would be illegal if the person is not legally permitted by the authority.
Punishment: Whoever violates this law, he or she will be punished by,
- An imprisonment of not exceeding 2 (two) years and or,
- A fine of not exceeding $200.00
The code “§ 4003: Carrying dangerous weapons” indicates the punishment and the law as well.
“A person who carries a dangerous or deadly weapon, openly or concealed, with the intent or avowed purpose of injuring a fellow man, or who carries a dangerous or deadly weapon within any state institution or upon the grounds or lands owned or leased for the use of such institution, without the approval of the warden or superintendent of the institution, shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $200.00, or both.”
Knife Laws for the Minors
Knife laws in Vermont are very strict for the minors as well as for the children. The law says that if any person other than the guardian or parent’s consent sells or furnishes any dangerous weapon to a minor or children under 16 (sixteen) years old, it will be illegal or unlawful.
Punishment: Violating this particular law is punishable and this will be,
- A fine of not exceeding $50.00 and not less than $10.00 and in between.
Exception: this law is not applicable if an instructor or teacher furnishes the dangerous weapon to pupils for instructions or educational purposes.
The code “§ 4007: Furnishing firearms to children” mentions all these.
“A person, firm or corporation, other than a parent or guardian, who sells or furnishes to a minor under the age of 16 years a firearm or other dangerous weapon or ammunition for firearms shall be fined not more than $50.00 nor less than $10.00. This section shall not apply to an instructor or teacher who furnishes firearms to pupils for instruction and drill.”
Knife Laws in the Schools
An entire section is given in the knife laws of Vermont for the knife possession or carrying in the schools. It is completely prohibited to possess any dangerous knife in the school buildings, school bus, and school property and with the intention to injure or harm anybody. The punishment lengthens or shortens depending on the particular activity separately.
For example, you will be punished by the imprisonment of not more than one year with the fine of not more than $1,000.00 if you possess deadly weapons or knives on the school bus or school buildings and this is for the first offense. And for the second or more offenses, you will be punished by the imprisonment of not exceeding three years with the fine of not exceeding $5,000.00.
But the punishment for violating the law of possessing dangerous knives on any school property for the first offense will be an imprisonment of not more than two years instead of one year as before. But the other punishments are the same according to the number of offenses.
If you want to check the law for yourself, the code “§ 4004: Possession of a dangerous or deadly weapon in a school bus or school building or on school property” mentions all these and you can look up there.
Blade Length of the Knives
It is mentioned at the earlier that switchblades with three inches or more than that blade length are banned here. So, for switchblade knives, the legal blade length is less than three inches.
Otherwise, there is no particular blade length for other knives to be considered as the legal ones.
Knife laws in Vermont are well explained and not that tricky. Switchblades have restrictions but according to its blade length. Dangerous knives should not be carried both openly or concealed. Not only the dangerous knives, if you have any intention to injure or harm anybody, you will be punished. Also, if your expression claims that you are guilty, no one can defend you. In that case, try to be very confident and lawful always while carrying one.