Georgia Knife Laws
Georgia has got one of the coolest and friendliest knife laws in the United States of America. There are no strict rules to follow and no knives are illegal to carry concealed or openly and also to own.
Only the blade size of the knives and licensing are the important factors here. Otherwise, you are getting the friendliest environment for knives’ ownership in Georgia.
On July 1st, 2012, knife laws in Georgia were updated to this fresh, clear, direct and simple where it was pretty complex and restrictive earlier.
What knives are illegal in Georgia?
Blade size: You can carry (openly or concealed) any knives you want without any license or permit if those are less than 5 inches of blade size. But carrying knives over 5 inches of blade size openly or concealed and without any permit or license is a crime in Georgia.
So, you only may face criticalities if the knife is larger than five (5) inches and you don’t have any license for possessing that.
Licensing a knife: If you are 21 years old and pass by the criminal & mental health background you can make your license for knives over five inches of blade size.
There are some individuals who cannot make a license such as fugitives, convicts, drug offenders and others but they can go through a special hearing process.
The code 16-11-129 says with a full description of it.
“(a) Application for weapons carry license or renewal license; term. The judge of the probate court of each county shall, on application under oath, on payment of a fee of $30.00, and on investigation of applicant pursuant to subsections (b) and (d) of this Code section, issue a weapons carry license or renewal license valid for a period of five years to any person…”
Making the license will cost you $30.00 with other administrative fees and the license is valid for five (5) years with a renewable process.
After having the license with you, there are no restrictions on folding knives, automatic knives, undetectable knives, fixed-blade knives or any other sorts of knives to carry openly or concealed.
Places you can never carry a knife
You cannot carry a dangerous weapon or a knife in some places that are mentioned in the code 16-11-127.
- Government buildings and courthouses
- Prisons and state mental health facilities
- Nuclear power plants
Schools: In a word, knives having a blade of two or more inches such as Bowie knives, switchblades, ballistic knives, dirks etc. are forbidden on the school premises and also on a school bus.
The code 16-11-127.1 says in details about carrying knives restrictions.
Code 16-11-127.1 (4)- “Weapon” means and includes any pistol, revolver, or any weapon designed or intended to propel a missile of any kind, or any dirk, bowie knife, switchblade knife, ballistic knife, any other knife having a blade of two or more inches, straight-edge razor, razor blade, spring stick, knuckles, whether made from metal, thermoplastic, wood, or other similar material,
blackjack, any bat, club, or other bludgeon-type weapon, or any flailing instrument consisting of two or more rigid parts connected in such a manner as to allow them to swing freely, which may be known as a nun chahka, nun chuck, nunchaku, shuriken, or fighting chain, or any disc,
of whatever configuration, having at least two points or pointed blades which is designed to be thrown or propelled and which may be known as a throwing star or oriental dart, or any weapon of like kind, and any stun gun or taser…”
“…It shall be unlawful for any person to carry to or to possess or have under such person’s control while within a school safety zone, at a school function, or on a bus or other transportation furnished by a school any weapon or explosive compound…”
Knife Laws for the Minors in Georgia
It is illegal to own any knife especially dangerous or deadly knives under the age of 18 years old. Even it is guilty of a misdemeanor if someone sells any knives such as knuckles or other dangerous ones to a minor under the age of 18 years old.
The code 16-11-101 says clearly about the knife laws for the minors.
Code 16-11-101-“A person is guilty of a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature when he or she knowingly sells to or furnishes to a person under the age of 18 years knuckles, whether made from metal, thermoplastic, wood, or other similar material, or a knife designed for the purpose of offense and defense.”
No restrictions for owning a knife
According to the knife laws in Georgia, there are no knives illegal or forbidden to own. You can own any kind of knives you want.
- All sorts of pocket knives are legal.
- Bowie knives are legal.
- Knives that are disguised under lipstick, pen, cane, belt etc. are legal.
- Ballistic knives are legal.
- Balisong or butterfly knives are legal.
- Undetectable knives are legal.
- Stilettos, dirks, and daggers are legal.
- Throwing stars and other martial arts’ weapons are legal.
- Switchblades and all other automatic knives and gravity knives are legal.
So, all kind of knives is legal to own in Georgia.
There are preemptive knife laws in Georgia. The law says about it in the code 16-11-136.
Code 16-11-136 (b) “Except for restrictions in courthouses and government buildings, no county, municipality, or consolidated government shall, by rule or ordinance, constrain the possession, manufacture, sale, or transfer of a knife more restrictively than the provisions of this part.”
Sum up to the knife laws in Georgia
Knife laws in Georgia have become very friendly from its last updated version of laws in 2012.
If you are over 18 years old, you can own any knives you want with having the statewide preemption. Some restrictions are there but those are not that critical.
Just some carrying limitations over blade size and licensing, otherwise the knife laws in Georgia are one of the smartest knife laws.